Service Incident on November 4th 2015

SUMMARY

As of 12:50 GMT / 04:50 AM PST we are working to resolve the following service incident:

We are currently experiencing issues for customers trying to access the Support section of our website.

13:40 GMT / 05:40 AM PST

We have found the root cause of access issues to our Support site and are working on a fix. Please continue sending requests to support@zendesk.com 

14:10 GMT / 06:10 AM PST

You should now be able to access all areas of our website including the Support portal to submit requests. Thank you for your patience.

POST-MORTEM 

This was a minor incident that did not impact any functionality of Zendesk for any of our customers; however, some users may have been unable to access our support portal to contact Zendesk Support (email, phone, chat channels were functioning as normal). http://support.zendesk.com/ was returning 502 errors only when acessing the root of the website. Specific paths, e.g. http://support.zendesk.com/hc were accessible.

This problem was cause by a Help Center deploy earlier that day, which contained a code error that disabled the redirect to Zendesk HC when http://support.zendesk.com/ is accessed. While we have tests in place that would have detected this error, it was not surfaced during QA. We're identifying ways to improve our testing as a learning from this incident.