Service Incident January 11th 2016

18:39 UTC | 10:32 PT
Search services for our European Data Center have been returned to normal.

15:39 UTC | 07:39 PT
We continue to monitor the search issues at our European Data Center. Performance has improved.

14:15 UTC | 06:15 PT
We are starting to see improvement with the search issues affecting customers in our European Data Center. More info shortly.

13:59 UTC | 05:59 PT
Our operations team continue to work on a resolution for the search issues at our European Data Center.

13:46 UTC | 05:46 PT
Our operations team is working on a resolution for the search issues in our European Data Center. More info ASAP.

13:26 UTC | 05:26 PT
We are investigating issues with Search at our European data center. More information shortly.

POST-MORTEM

For the duration on this incident, the cluster responsible for the search functionality in Zendesk (including in-product and HC search) in our European data center stopped responding to search queries. Investigation showed that one of the data nodes was not running, but starting the service did not alleviate the problem. Ultimately, a rolling restart of the cluster was performed and that restored the service.

Our Operations team continue to investigate ways we can improve our monitoring of search performance and response to any degradations in service. We will update this page with more information as it becomes available.

FOR MORE INFORMATION

Please subscribe to this article for regular updates until the issue is resolved. If you aren't subscribed to our Twitter feed, we encourage you to do so in order to get the most current information about any service issues. We also record all site outages on our system status page where you can see the past 12 months of service uptime. If you have questions about this issue, please open a ticket with us by sending a note to support@zendesk.com.