Onedrive for business stop syncing

To stop syncing a library

  1. Right click the OneDrive for Business icon System tray warning icon for OneDrive for Business sync app in the Windows notification area at the bottom of your screen, and then click Stop syncing a folder…
    Stop syncinc a folder command in the OneDrive for Business menu

    NOTE   If the OneDrive for Business icon System tray warning icon for OneDrive for Business sync app isn't visible, click the Show hidden icons buttonButton to see notification icons in the notification tray.

  2. Select the folder you want to stop syncing, and then click Stop syncing.

  3. Click Yes to agree to permanently stop syncing the folder, and then click OK.

When you stop syncing a folder, the folder is disconnected from its library. All files are retained in the previously synced folder. You can sync the library to your computer again at any time. When you start syncing a library again, it will create a new folder on your computer. If it's using the same name, it will add a number to the end, such as 1, 2, and so on.