Service Incident August 31st 2016 Issues creating editing Help Center articles Pod 5

16:33 UTC | 09:33 PT
The HC application is stable and working well again for all customers. Please let us know if you continue to see issues with HC articles.

15:46 UTC | 08:46 PT
The problem is identified and we are still working on the resolution for issues affecting some customers with Help Center articles.

15:12 UTC | 08:12 PT
Some customers are seeing errors when creating/editing HelpCenter articles. We are working on a solution that will be made available soon.

POST-MORTEM

This incident started because a device was taken out of rotation in one of our Pod 5 database clusters for routine maintenance. Some required application code was not prepared to handle that situation and stopped functioning, resulting in errors creating and/or editing Help Center articles for some customers. The problem was identified, and after attempting to resolve the issue with a patch, our Operations team manually reconfigured the database files to temporarily restore the service and resolve the incident. Remediation steps for the future include updating the relevant code library and improved documentation.

FOR MORE INFORMATION

For current system status information about your Zendesk, check out our system status page. During an incident, you can also receive status updates by following @ZendeskOps on Twitter. The summary of our post-mortem investigation is usually posted here a few days after the incident has ended. If you have additional questions about this incident, please log a ticket with us.